Hello Again!!

28 Feb

Sorry it’s been so long it has been quite a busy month! I’ve been doing my best to try to juggle all of my new duties as Miss Santa Clara and my regular busy schedule and I think I have finally got it all under control. : ) It’s a busy busy role, but I feel so blessed to represent the city of Santa Clara!

Since my last post I have joined team BIG C and we will be doing the Avon walk in June to help find a cure for Breast Cancer. I have wanted to do this walk for many years and never had the chance so I am so excited to finally be taking part in such an amazing fundraiser towards finding a cure. So far I have raised $100 towards my goal of $1800 for the Avon Walk. Look for more updates on this while we plan more events. I am currently selling See’s Candy bars if anyone needs to satisfy their sweet tooth, and we have also planned our first big fundraiser, a bowling event at Cloverleaf Bowling in Fremont on Saturday May 12th. We would love to see you there!

A few weeks ago I visited Santa Clara High School for their annual “Balling for a Cure”. A fundraiser they do every year with the girls basketball team to help raise money for Breast Cancer. I felt so lucky to be surrounded by so many young motivated women! Each of the girls was decked out head to toe in pink and everytime they scored a 3 pointer or free throw I would get to throw pink wrist bands that said “Ballin for a Cure” into the crowd. In addition each of the parents had bought white t-shirts with Ballin for a Cure written in pink across the front. It was so nice to see a school full of so many young people getting involved in a cause that is so huge. Santa Clara High does fundraisers for Breast Cancer during each sport’s seasons and I was asked to come and participate in future events so I was very excited and honored.

Last weekend my Mom, Ashley and I joined Jessa Carmack, Miss California’s Outstanding Teen and went down South to see Miss LA County/Miss Culver City.  During the day we went to the Fashion District and were very excited to find lots of rhinestones and bling.  We walked the streets up and down and surprisingly didn’t buy our weight in shiny things, but we did try our best. Shortly after we made our way to the pageant and watched 30 beautiful and very talented girls compete. This was my first experience watching a local pageant and I have never been more thrilled to not be  judged. They really had their work cut out for them as literally every single girl had very unique and special qualities that stood out. Each of the girls had something that I couldn’t help but love about them.

We also had the opportunity to meet  many of the other visiting title holders from California, which was very exciting because I didn’t think I would get to meet very many before April when we go to our orientation. The whole left side of the audience was a sea of shine and crowns. At the end f the pageant all of the visiting title holders were asked to  go up on stage and announce who we were. This was my first time going up on stage and announcing that I was Miss Santa Clara 2012 and I was very nervous but also very proud to represent such an amazing city.

Being Miss Santa Clara is finally all settling in (up until recently I was waiting for someone to pinch me and wake me up from this crazy dream because I was in such shock)  but now I cannot wait to find out what else may be in store for me this year. I have so many amazing things planned and I can’t wait to get started.

 Stay tuned because this month has a lot in store for me : )

XOXO

Caitlin

Miss Santa Clara 2012

If you would like to make a donation to my Avon team and an amazing cause please click the link:

http://info.avonfoundation.org/site/TR/Walk/SanFrancisco?px=6353329&pg=personal&fr_id=2173

We are in it to end it!

Leave a comment