A day in the life of me

10 Mar

I thought I would give you all a glimpse of the busy busy life I lead. Not only do I work a full time job as a Pre-K teacher but I am now also doing all of the amazing task that come from being Miss Santa Clara. And this week proved to be the busiest thus far, well Tuesday at least. I have never had such an action packed day before.

On Tuesday Morning I went to IHOP from 7-9am to volunteer for their Children’s Miracle Network fundraiser. The Children’s Miracle Network is not only an amazing cause, but one that has been adopted by the Miss America Program.  Every pageant we enter we are asked to raise funds, but it’s not hard to do considering the adorable children it will be helping. Everyone who came into IHOP received a free stack of pancakes and in return they were asked to make a donation to the Children’s Miracle Network. The restaurant was much busier then the manager had planned for and I ended up doing much more then I had planned or even imagined. I took names and sat the customers coming in while also talking to them all about the Children’s Miracle Network and hoping they would all make a donation. I was very impressed by the turnout and had an amazing time. After IHOP I headed to work for another action packed day filled with children who really do say the darnedest things. I need to start writing them down because you would all surely be amused by the way their little minds work and how thoughtful they all are. This week was especially exciting at work because the duck eggs we had been incubating hatched on Monday afternoon and we now have 2 of the cutest little yellow ducks you have ever seen. If you know me well you know that me being surrounded by baby ducks is truly my heaven. The children voted and the names they decided on were Apple Tree and Daffodil, I am so excited to watch them grow and see all of the amazing things they will begin to learn. They are already chirping the sweetest little sound and swimming. I love how instinctual it all is.  After work I headed to downtown San Jose to help in hosting Cinequest. I interviewed a few directors, actors, and even some really inspirational Egyptian women who have been doing a tour of the US which started with ringing the bell at the New York Stock exchange. They have done so many amazing things along their journey and it was very interesting to hear to hear how empowered they all were. Needless to say after this very long day of wardrobe changes and smiles I was exhausted.

Last Wednesday evening I had my team Crown’s For a Cure’s first fundraiser at Smoke Eaters in Cupertino. Many people came out and ate yummy wings and I have a feeling it was very successful. A huge thank you to everyone who came out and supported our team!

Yesterday Jessa, her mom Tricia and I went to Sonoma to watch the Miss Sonoma County Pageant. It was filled with many very adorable girls and we were fortunate enough to meet them all. The former Miss Sonoma County Jordan Libby did a beautiful performance and it was such a pleasure to watch her sing multiple times throughout the evening. The pageant even consisted of a production number which was very original and a great way to see each of their individual personalities. I also got to meet more of the amazing girls competing in the Miss California Program with me in June. I am beyond excited to be going to orientation next month and to be able to meet them all and get to know them a little better.

Next week I celebrate turning 24 an age in which my sister can no longer sing Blink 182’s “Nobody like you when you 23” and makes this my last year to compete in the amazing program that has been such a huge part of my life for so long. I feel so ridiculously old! It’s so crazy to think that you can be too old for something at the young ripe age of 24. Fortunately I was blessed with being crowned my last year, and I know this program will continues to be apart of my life. The only difference is this time I will be cheering on the girls from the sidelines instead of beside them on stage, but I still have an amazing 10 months left representing the city I love.  

Never a dull moment, but I am so happy to be enjoying the ride.

That’s all for now!

Thanks for reading!

XOXO

Caitlin

Leave a comment