A day I will never forget!

23 May

On April 19th 2012, I had the once in a lifetime opportunity to be a part of the groundbreaking ceremony for the 49er’s stadium that will be located in the beautiful city of Santa Clara. This day will go down in history not only because the 49er’s will be moving from San Francisco to Santa Clara, but it is the first stadium to be built in California in 50 years! And you have no idea how unbelievably excited I was to be apart it! I feel so privileged that during my year as Miss Santa Clara I got to be apart of this special day and I am also excited for Miss Santa Clara 2014 because maybe she will get to be there for another very special day for the stadium, the day it opens.

Not only did I get to be apart of this special day, but I also got to  share it with Jessa Carmack, Miss California’s Outstanding teen. If you don’t already know Jessa she is also from Santa Clara and was Miss Santa Clara’s Outstanding Teen 2010, Miss Mission City 2011, and is now Miss California’s Outstanding Teen 2011 so this day was very special for her as well. Not only that,  but she just gained a spot on the 2012 49er’s Goldrush girls.  She is so multi talented and I always look forward to events that I get to share with her because she is not a newbie by any means and I love being able to follow her lead. (I am a very proud fan if you haven’t noticed.) I feel so blessed to get to call her a friend.

Upon my arrival I didn’t quite know what I was getting myself into. I had no idea what exactly the day would have in store for me and what they would have me do. During my time there I met a lot of amazing people including Jed York, Vernon Davis, and all of the Goldrush girls. The best part was that I got to go onstage and be part of the actual ceremony! I had cue cards with all of my lines on them and stood beside the host Kennedy and helped to introduce Jessa, the Santa Clara Vanguard, and the Wilcox cheerleaders. After getting to be onstage I watched as they mayor and many important people spoke about the special day and finally got to see the gold shovels make their mark in the ground. After all of the festivities ended and we walked back to our cars, we were pleasantly surprised to see that they had brought a little of San Francisco with them to the new stadium. They had cable cars waiting in the parking lot to drive everyone back to their cars. It was the perfect end to an amazing day.

It’s a day I won’t forget for many reasons, but I am most excited to say that I got to be apart of history and will be able to drive by in 50 years and say I was apart of the day that it all started.

In case you missed the live Broadcast of the event here is a sneak peek:

http://www.mercurynews.com/southbayfootball/ci_20434376/49ers-break-ground-this-evening-stadium-at-center

Thanks for reading!

XOXO

Caitlin

Leave a comment